Black Section Separator

The lower respiratory tract development stages 

Embryonic Stage

 The lung buds develop from the foregut's ventral wall, which subsequently gives rise to the trachea and bronchi.

Pseudoglandular Stage

 During this stage, the epithelium, smooth muscles, and cartilage begin to form.

Canalicular Stage

The respiratory bronchioles and alveolar ducts begin to form during the canalicular stage, which occurs between 16 to 26 weeks 

Saccular Stage

The first alveoli, known as saccules, form, and surfactant production begins.

Alveolar Stage

This stage begins shortly after birth and lasts until around the age of eight years.

Alveolar Stage

The saccules continue to grow in number and size as they mature into mature alveoli.

Know More

Arrow Right